About bruce

Bruce Markusen is the author of eight books
on baseball, including The Team That Changed Baseball, now
out in paperback. He is also the author of Tales From The
Mets Dugout, Ted Williams: A Biography, The Orlando Cepeda
Story, Roberto Clemente: The Great One, and A Baseball
Dynasty: Charlie Finley’s Swingin’ A’s. The latter book won
the Seymour Award from the Society for American Baseball
Research as the best baseball book of 1998. In addition, he
won the 2002 McFarland-SABR Research Award for an article on
major league baseball’s first all-black lineup. He has
written published articles for a variety of publications,
including the Baseball Hall of Fame Yearbook, Baseball
Digest, and the Albany Times Union, A native of Bronxville,
NY, Bruce worked in the education, research, and programming
departments at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum
from 1994 to 2004. In his various capacities at the Hall of
Fame, he wrote numerous articles for publication, edited the
Hall of Fame’s Yearbook and quarterly newsletter, narrated
Hall of Fame video productions, and interviewed most of the
current living Hall of Famers. Bruce and his wife, Sue,
reside in Cooperstown, NY, with their daughter, Madeline, and
their faithful dogs, Tate, Rico, and Pepi.


Baseball cards and books, horror films and
books, TV shows “Burn Notice,” “Monk,” “Psych,” “Seinfeld,”
“M*A*S*H,” and “Ghost Hunters.”